Top Gun

Top Gun – sponsored by Colac Motor Group

The final of “Top Gun” was played on Sunday 9th October in very windy conditions.  After 9 months of qualifying The final list of players was: Kevin Reidy, David Dunne, Larry McDonnell, Peter Williamson, Peter Lucas, John Miller, Jock Mullan, Rob Harrowfield, Rhys Tillack, Jye Tillack, Paul Hanson, Andrew Hood, Karl Weil, Lyndon McCrae, Peter George, Brian Woodcock, Andre Delorenzo, Don Ballagh & Jamie Morrissy.

18 players started the day with Peter Williamson a late withdrawal due to an injury. The format was one player eliminated every hole with stableford the scoring format of the day.  If there was a tie, a chip off was required with the furtherest ball away eliminated.

The first nine took around 4 hours to play and we thought we were going to be out there until dark, however as the number of players dwindled, play sped up and it was 4 pm when Peter Lucas was eliminated on the 17th hole to leave Andre Delorenzo & Don Ballagh to fight it out for the title of “Top Gun”. With two shots on the last hole, Don had an advantage and he took advantage of being just off the green for 2 with a slippery down hill putt.  Andre put his drive left of the green and hit his pitch too far and it rolled off the other side.  He then rolled it up to 2 foot, whilst Don had rolled his shot off the green into about 4 feet.  Andre missed his short putt, which left Don with two putts to win, but he only needed one and he was the inaugural “Top Gun”

Congratulations to all those participants who made the final and to Damian Counsel and the Colac Motor Group for their sponsorship of the event and a bigger and better event in 2017

Order of Elimination

Peter Williamson – Walkover

Peter George – 2nd

Jock Mullan – 3rd

Kevin Reidy – 4th

Rob Harrowfield – 5th

Rhys Tillack – 6th

Paul Hanson – 7th

John Miller – 8th

Lyndon McCrae – 9th

Larry McDonnell – 10th

Karl Weil – 11th

Jamie Morrissy – 12th

David Dunne – 13th

Jye Tillack – 14th

Brian Woodcock – 15th

Andrew Hood – 16th

Peter Lucas – 17th

Andre Delorenzo – 18th

Don Ballagh – Winner